Public Health Nursing

One Municipal Plaza, Lower Level

Bloomfield, NJ 07003

Phone: 973.680.4058

Fax: 973.680.4847

nursing@bloomfieldtwpnj.com

The Office of Public Health Nursing is located on the Lower Level of the Town Hall Building. Programs are available to residents of Bloomfield, Caldwell, and Glen Ridge.

 

 "Prevention is Our Intention"

 

The Beginning of Public Health Nursing

Lillian Wald (1867 – 1940) first used the phrase “public health nurse” in 1883 for nurses who worked outside of the hospital in the community. Ms. Wald worked as a public health nurse in the tenement community located in the Lower East Side, NYC. It was there Ms. Wald founded the Henry Street Settlement House where she lived and worked. Ms. Wald and her colleagues taught health hygiene, practiced home nursing and developed health initiatives. Some of the initiatives included the creating of a playground behind the Henry Street Settlement House for the children living in tenements. Another initiative realized by Wald was the utilization of the public school system to make effective health changes in children for their future. By 1912, public health nurses started to see the impact of the health of those they visited. Wald and her colleagues realized professional standards were needed and started the National Organization of Public Health Nurses of which Wald was the president.

To read more about Public Health Nursing, please click here


Introducing Our Staff

Donna C. Williams, BSN, RN, BC
Public Health Nurse Supervisor
973.680.4065
dwilliams@bloomfieldtwpnj.com

Joan Sisto
Office Manager
973.680.4058
jsisto@bloomfieldtwpnj.com

Terri Fucci, BS, RN
Public Health Nurse
973.680.4061
tfucci@bloomfieldtwpnj.com

Lisa Gearhart, BSN, RN
Public Health Nurse
973.680.4064
lgearhart@bloomfieldtwpnj.com

Cheryl Tomasello, RN
Public Health Nurse
Non-Public School Nurse
973.680.4059
ctomasello@bloomfieldtwpnj.com

Michael J. Hodges, MS CHES
Health Educator
973.680.4183
mhodges@bloomfieldtwpnj.com

 

Public Health Nursing Programs

Immunization Programs

Tuberculosis Control Program

Perinatal Hepatitis B Prevention Program

Childhood Lead Poisoning Program

Communicable Disease Program

New Jersey Family Care

Public Health Nurse Screenings

NJ Child Care Immunization Requirements

NJ School Immunization Requirements

Immunization Audits

Non-Public School Health Services

Tuberculin Skin Testing (PPD or Mantoux)

Homebound Senior Public Health Nurse Visits

Website Resources for Seniors

File of Life

NJDHSS Press Releases

  

 

Useful Information


Updated: September 30, 2013